gearbox advice please

riprse

give it to me i like that, its one nice looking motor.

seriously i believe series boxes cant really cope with V8s but im no expert.

well it depends how much cash you have to burn... the s2 box is ment to be stronger at holding the power and people tend to go for that. alternatively you can do silly thing slike lt77s to series transfer, but as the parts arent made any more its either a big hunt or alot of expensive one off jobs. Tonks the one to ask about this.

im interested, how did you achieve a 4 inch lift?

This question keeps cropping up but no one ever listens to the answer. Series boxes are carp. They were originally designed for the 80 inch landy of 1948 with 1.6 litre 11 hp engine and 28 inch diameter tyres, and were barely able to cope with that if any regular towing was involved. People fit bigger engines,that apply more input torque than the box was designed for. They find that the gearing is too low then fit higher ratio diffsand possibly larger diameter tyres. They are attacking the puny little gearbox from both ends, then they wonder why it won't stay together. I'll give an example of the effect of diff gearing and larger tyres on gearbox reliability. To keep the maths simple I will stick to even easily divided numbers.for the exercise I will disregard the transfercase reduction ratio and call it 1:1 . I will also disregard frictional losses