Tow Electrics Wiring advice

Hi everyone,

I'm getting a NAS Towstep for 110 and will fit towball etc.

There seems to be a real variety in terms of prices for the electrics (LR specific is more than £70 or generic one for £12).

Can you tell me if I need a specifically LR Defender electric pack or will any tow electric pack do?

I'm guessing I only need the N style as I don't have a caravan?

Thanks for any help!

Cheers

If I read the OP's post correctly, in this thread - http://forums.lr4x4.com/index.php?showtopic=68392

He's awaiting delivery of a new Defender.

Hi guys,
Complete newbie here and expecting my first LR in couple of weeks.

In which case, the Genuine Land Rover kit is the one I would recommend.

The Genuine kit plugs-in to a socket under the O/S rear wheelarch.

The wires into the back of the 12N socket are sealed.

It also has sealed connectors on its harness for plugging-in some of the 12S circuits.

The generic 12N kits don't usually have the wires sealed into the 12N socket and, at the other end, are just bare wires.

Thanks Paul, yes it's a new vehicle.

So - the LR005920? Is worth the extra cash?

Found it online at island4x4 for a tad under £40... Just seems a lot...

Cheers

Doug

Yes, that's the one icon_thumbup.gif

However, the one you've seen at Island 4x4, is an 'OEM' kit made by Britpart :unsure:

As you'll learn, anything in a 'Blue Box' labelled Britpart, is usually to be avoided.

They use the term 'OEM' (Original Equipment Manufacturer) a bit too liberally - as, their kit bears little resemblance to the Genuine Parts kit.

If it is made by the OEM (which I very much doubt) - then, it's been 'made to a price' - as, it's been made from much cheaper, inferior components.

Britpart kit -

getimg.jpg

As you can see in the above picture -

The 12N socket is separate from the harness and has to be assembled to it, with a separate gasket.

The harness is covered in PVC sleeving.