Spares to carry ?

2003 disco 2

Hi all, i have searched this forum for a similar question but cant find anything, as im brand new to it, could be the way im searching, Anyway...............Question is, what spares do people recomend to carry on long trips ? with road, dirt and 4wd tracks all in the same trips....i have just returned from a 3 week 7,000km trip and had the top radiator hose split, a fuel line rub through causing an attamized leak, and several electrical faults...all were fixed on the side of the road with various parts not really meant for the job, but it got us home no problem, im happy to spend around about $1000 on spares to have in the rear drawers....so besides a full hose kit, belt, fuel filter, what else would people recomend.....???

having had a couple of them and thinking of the the things that went wrong with ours i would say a d2 isn't a very fixable on the side of the road machine , i'd be more inclined to spend money on a really good going over of mechanicals before you set off , things like a set of hoses would be a good idea to carry, maybe a spare air bag and ride height sensor and a nanocom perhaps after that make sure you have breakdown cover

Don't carry new parts as spares: fit them to the vehicle and carry the removed parts as the 'spares'.

It's always easier to fit a part in the comfort of your garage when you don't need to, rather than at the side of the road when you break down, it's stupid-hundred-O'clock, it's raining, and you've got an appointment with a ferry 200 miles away.

Lengths of wire, so systems can be jumped.

I might carry a tyre? Once your spare is used and on, almost anyone can get your new tyre onto the flat wheel. And you can ram the tyre full of 'stuff'.

Good recovery sounds a good plan. I wonder if you can create a 'relationship' with a supplier so you aren't a stranger when you ask for parts to be sent too........... "Hi Bob, yeh, we can air freight spares to **** ".

• 4 weeks later...