Megasquirt Series

dave88sw

Hi,

Right, having spent the last 12 months fitting a 300tdi to my series 3, i took it for a drive to the MOT station last Monday. It passed but...

I hated every second of it. Diesels not for me, short bursts of power when the turbo kicks in, then you need another gear and series boxes don't change quickly.

Sooo, I realllllllllllly want to megasquirt the original 2.25. The engine is in good nick, its not long since it was rebuilt and i think it would benefit greatly from a decent fuel and ignition system.

The engine already has the twin choke webber carb off an early 90/110, so has the larger inlet and exhaust manifolds.

Now, i have a pretty good knowledge of injection systems (i'm a mechanic by trade) but i've never started from scratch or looked in great detail at ideal running conditions so fuel and spark tables will be new to me but i'm eager to learn.

I'll try and update this thread as i go along, hopefully encourage a few others to go down this route.

So, what's the point in this post i hear you ask? Well, i've hit my first stumbling block. As the engine is still out of the vehicle, i'd like to get the hardware mounted up first, like the trigger wheel and injectors. I can buy an aluminium extrusion from triggerwheels.com that's perfect for the fuel rail and they also do weld in injector bungs (i have a friend who can ally weld). The problem is, the ideal would be to have the injectors mounted at a 45 degree angle, but if i were to do this, the fuel rail would want to occupy the same space as the carb currently does (and where the throttle body will need to be). What would be the best work-around here? Have 2 short fuel rails connected with a flexi in the middle. Or mount the injectors at a steeper angle enabling me to use one long rail?

If i absolutely had to, i might possibly be able to get some tube bent to clear the throttle body but it makes fitting injector cups much more difficult.

Thanks for any input

Dave