Leaf Spring oddity

Gremlin

Right, so today i have been investigating a particular defect on my land rover. I noticed this since my tyre change last week that my front axle is not quite where it should be. So out came the tape measure..............

Now my front springs are a bit of a botch job with a mish mash of spring packs of unknown origin. Main leafs were original land rover items from a surplus military parts bin.

I noticed that one spring pack has the centre bolt not quite in the centre! its about 8mm off approx, so my axle sits 8mm further back from right to left!! it drives straight and true, no crabbing or other quirky handling.

What are the chances of having a Main leaf with a hole drilled wrongly? Any one else ever found such an occurrence?

I have a spare set so this defect will be rectified but i have been running these springs for over 9 years and in all the previous years i have changed various springs i never tried to check if the centre bolt is really in the centre.

How many of you check??

And finally, new front springs, any recommendations?? No parabolloks, as i had them on the front and broke them, only the rears survived (early heystee jobbies)

G

Have you checked the other spring? It could be that 1-ton springs have the bolt slightly back to increase the space between the front of the larger tyre and the wing or bumper. If it's offset aft by 4mm, and you have one spring one way and the other spring reversed, you'd have an 8mm difference.

I suspect it's well within tolerances. My Marsland chassis dumbiron spring bolt holes were about 12mm out from left to right, prodcucing a lean and a pull to the left (rectified by welding up and redrilling the holes), and the mini-outriggers for the rear spring shackles are 5mm different from side to side (has no effect on geometry as measured on 4-wheel laser alignment).

Hi Nick, well the other spring seems spot on.

Next to your findings mine seem trivial!