Bleeding Brakes on C202

valp

As a newbie, I am hoping you will accept my forum membership even though my vehicle is a Volvo. When Volvo made the Laplander C202 for civilian market 1974 to 1981, they transfered production to Hungary. They made about 3,000. They sourced quite a few bits from the Landrover "parts bin" for production. Particullaly brakes and some clutch stuff.

I am rebuilding one in the UK. One of my many problems has been the brakes (the Laplander was sitting for 25 years outside before I got it) I have sourced all the bits for the brakes, wheel cylinders and shoes from Landrover parts suppliers, with some new pipe work I have got to the stage of Bleeding the brakes. Each front brake has 2 cylinders from LR 109 6/8 cylinder..Series 3? maybe Forward control.

I still have air in the system and feel it is due to these front cylinders. Is there a system or tips I can try ?

The cylinders have the pipe inlet and bleed nipple. does it matter which way round this is?

The master cylinder I could not replace so it was rebuilt/rebored and sleeved by Past Parts co. I managed to get a new seal kit from Sweden.

Thanks for your attention.

post-107931-0-01735900-1437933374_thumb.jpg

Hi, welcome to the forum.

When bleeding the brakes make sure the adjusters are fully backed off so the brake cylinder pistons are pulled into the cylinders as far as possible.

I don't think it matters which hole the nipple goes in.

I found this pic on the net, may help.

post-2781-0-40197600-1438027377_thumb.jpg

• 2 weeks later...

Hi,

Whereabouts in the UK are you? My parents recently sold the one that had been sitting in their back garden for a number of years and I know it is being restored.

For the brake system how have you piped it up? The original Volvo setup was twin line with each line doing one cylinder on each front wheel and then one of the rear wheels.