Idiots guide to spray painting

studmuffin

I have no real experience of spray painting and will be spraying my rear door when I re-skin/replace it early next year. Take it that I will have a compressor etc... by then and sheet metal for practicing is a given for me -----

Looking for any tips/guidance. As always any help gratefully received.

Cheers

Barry

Yes, cold = bad.

You after perfection or just land-rover-good-enough?

I would like to get a really good finish as the bodywork on the rest of my truck is very good.

The only reason to do the door is the galvanic corrosion is getting worse.

Thanks for the heads up on temperature. I can spray the door at work where we run the factory heaters on default 24/7/365.

Cheers

Barry

I resprayed the back end of my classic and I was really happy with the finish I got paint wise, unfortunately the colour match was pretty poor, I put it down to the other half of the car being 25 years old, and the panel work wasn't good enough for a road car but fine for an offraoder.

Any imperfections you can see will be 10x more visible when you spray so take your time with the prep. Make sure everything is clean and dry (including your air supply) including whats around you as you'll kick up dust when you spray. For this reason try not to lean things against walls or put them on the floor as this can kick up dust and leave an edge if your painted surface is touching anything. Same with masking, you'll get an edge so take care where you mask and the overspray seems to travel miles so cover everything else with paper. Use the proper primer and if you can see any imperfections in primer they'll be 10x worse in colour so sort them before carrying on. Use really light strokes and thin layers. It's frustrating but if you layer it too thick it'll run. Especially if you put lacquer on, I found that runs like crazy and makes the colour go dark if you use too much.