Quick MIG question

Anderzander

A beginner MIG quandary ... I'm welding a patch on the chassis and I can't seem to run a decent bead. But when I run one on my test piece it's fine.

At first I thought I had the settings wrong - as when I set it up last time the power and particularly the wire speed were much lower than I'd have thought. But if I turn it up I blow through - and it's putting a good bead with penetration on my test pieces.

The metal is clean, I've cleaned for the earth. It is in an awkward spot where I can't get comfy and can't get in position to properly see the weld pool ... I accept I'm a carp welder - but am I missing anything obvious ?

It may also be easier to "join the dots" rather than try for a nice run. Can also save time having to grind back a whole run when it goes Pete tong. Also check the the tip is tight and the nozzle is free of slag, if the weld area is a bit carp it doesn't take much spatter to foul things up.

Couple of things that may help, firstly you wont get a good weld if you cant see where you are going. In the past I've set up a mirror to look at the weld area. Do a dry run first to get your brain around the reverse image. Also get plenty of light into the area,even whilst welding,I use mag mount LED lamps,often 2 or 3 pointed at the area where I'm working - you cant get it too light,esp if your eyesight is getting worse like mine. You HAVE to be comfy and be able to breathe naturally whilst welding and make sure nothing snags you 1/2 way along a run.

Getting a decent setup for each weld is 95% of the problem when doing chassis/body repairs,its not always easy - even when you have been doing it for over 30 years....

Thanks both ??. It was the gas - and the position.

I had been given a new flow meter and hadn't got it right - or rather it's revealed how out my gauge is - so I've turned it right up - wedged myself in and got much closer and it's worked.