Very High Idle 2200rpm - P38 V8 in LR90

alex-the-lyon

Hello Everyone

I'm new to this so sorry if this has already been covered...

Ill start with the back ground...

Got a Landrover 90 (E reg) which we fitted a 4.0l P38 engine in to and upgraded to MS1 & EDIS at the same time. When we fitted the engine we never fitted the PWM valve and just relied on right foot when starting! It ran fine for a year or so until we blew up the engine.

We have had the engine rebuilt for us and now it is fitted (now with the PWM Valve) it will start and idle at about 1600 rpm and as the engine warms up the tick over drops until the temperature reaches about 80 deg C at which point the engine will rapidly rev up and idle at 2200 rpm!

I have checked everything and am now totally baffled! We have done:

- checked for air leaks (pulled off all pipes and plugged them)

- disabled PWM and plugged inlet

- checked throttle poss in ecu & in plenum

- re loaded the map from Nige

- checked idle in ECU (set at 850)

- Totally closed the idle control in plenum

Any one have any ideas? Im totally baffled! I can send the map to anyone if they want to check it out.

Thanks in advance!

• 3 years later...

The PWM valve need current to hold it shut, I am sure that was what was happening here, MS had not been set up properly yet.

lOn a normal engine ECU, high idle is mostly caused by either a logged fault code,or more often an air leak on the inlet somewhere. Other possibles are things like the throttle butterfly being jammed open.

Need more info really.

Ah OK.