4.6L V8 P38 engine into a Defender 90 HELP

Hi All,

Was looking for some advice... I recently took a gamble and purchased a cheap 4.6L V8 petrol engine which I believe came from a P38 Rangey. The question is will it go in my 1990 defender 90 and how much modification will be required. I also have no idea about gearboxes etc. My defender currently has a LT77 gearbox with a 200tdi disco engine in but im also concerned about propshaft sizes whether a standard one will fit or not. I basically need an exact list of all the items I need. Another obstacle I have is I have no idea if the engine actually runs or not and as I don't own/work in a garge I am not sure how I can find this out. As you can probably tell im a bit of a novice at this but there is only one way to learn! Any ideas/advice given would be greatly appreciated.

Should answer a few of your questions. If you keep the transfer box in the same place you won't need to change the props. Gearbox is specific to the engine so you need a v8 r380 or auto box.

my build thread from 200tdi to 3.9. Should answer a few questions you have.

http://forums.lr4x4.com/index.php?showtopic=93802&page=1

A quick way to assess the state of a V8 is whip the inlet manifold and rocker covers off. It'll let you have a look at cam wear and the general colour/state inside which can tell you a lot about how it's been treated and what you can expect from it. Heads off if you want to check for the dreaded liner slip/bore crack they can suffer from.

Inlet and rocker covers are easy and replacement gaskets are cheap, so that's not a bad place to start. Whip the sump off and see what's luring in the bottom too.

Some good pics and tips for assessing the state of a V8 buried here: http://www.v8engines.com/engine-4.htm

Worth bearing in mind that they want to sell you parts, though, so don't let it panic you!