AutoCad vs Solidworks

skauldy

Guy's

I would like to do some basic 3D designs using OnShape as its free, but i'm a complete novice. I have looked up some night courses near me and they have two course, one being AutoCad and the other Solidworks. Now from a google search it seems the Solidworks would be the ideal but the night it is on doesn't suit me so that just leaves the AutoCad. Would the AutoCad get me started with using a 3D design system as i have read its a 2D system. I have looked up the tutorial vidoes but they are each an hour long and her in doors gives out saying i'm just sitting in front of the computer, least with the night course i would be out of the house :)

Shane

If you can manage it, go for Solidworks.

There might be an option for Inventor, which is part of the same suite as Autocad - and there is nothing to call it between Inventor & Solidworks other than peoples preference.

AutoCad does support 3D, but it was really designed for 2D work. IMHO, the 3D tools are clumsy and there are much better tools available.

I design stuff using Solidworks for a living!

Si

I have college two nights a week and the course is on one of the college nights. Would mean i would have to skip it for 7 weeks I'll see what modules i have next semester

I downloaded sketchup and bloody hate it, so have been playing with OnShape all day and getting the hang of it. Design my spacer for the crankshaft of my V8. Only thing is i am trying to figure out how to export it in Pdf or something so i can give it to the engineering crown.

Only downside is i have a big assignment due on Wednesday and haven't done a bit of it today :(

Autocad 3d is not really a solid modelling package so a course in it would not get you in the right mindset in my opinion.

I haven't tried on shape but the packages usually just let you do a save as to get a pdf once you've made a drawing from the model.