1977 Series 3 Headlight Issues

Jamie206

Hi,

I have recently purchased a 1977 Series 3, my first Land Rover, and am having issues with the headlights. One works fine, the other is very dim when swiched onto the headlight function. To try and remedy this, I have bought a new switch (needed anyway), two new headlights, and have cleaned up both of the earthing points on the car (one from battery to bottom of engine block and other from starter motor to the chassis). I've followed some advice on forums regarding the earthing etc but have now hit a brick wall.

If anyone could offer some help on this subject it would be much appreciated, I am a complete novice at this!

Many thanks,

Jamie

Does the full beam on that side operate at full brightness? That would probably confirm that you have a good earth / 0 volts from the headlamp

You need to ensure that you have a full voltage across the bulb - so as well as making sure (as you have) that there is a good earth (that's the 0volts side), you also need to be sure that you get the full 12.5 - 14 volts (depending on engine off or running) at the other side of the bulb.

So check the feed wires going to the lamp, if necessary all the way from the new switch. Open any bullets and clean with an abrasive like emery cloth or sandpaper. Bright usually means good contact; dull means not so good. In a bullet connector you need to clean the socket part as well which is harder than the plug.

If one of the lights is bright, then the fault is in the wiring for the dim light. I would suspect corrosion in the connectors or frayed wiring entering the bullet ends, but it is possible that you have a broken wire on a vehicle that age, with only a few intact strands. Find the fault as a matter of urgency; poor connections overload the spot that is conducting, making it behave like a filament and getting very hot - it is almost as likely to start a fire as a short circuit.

Just re-read your initial post.