Low fuel light permanently on

1991 ex military 90, 2.5nad.

Low fuel light coming on intermittently, then after a few days permanently on, fuel tank is half full and fuel gauge is showing correct level.
Easy fix with a new fuel sender STC1139 or so I thought !! BUT still got the same problem. Fiddled with the connections on top of the sender then noticed that with all three wires disconnected the low fuel light was still lit. So I’m guessing that somewhere away from the tank there is a short or live feed but I have no idea which or where to look. The only thing I can confirm is the Black cable is a good earth.

Any help appreciated as I’m no expert with electrics..

Hello.

I have the exact same problem on my 1986 110 csw 2.5 nad. I've just yesterday taken the bulb out of the warning light.

Not looked at the sender yet. It's interesting what you say about a short or live feed as mine seemed to start after I had taken the dash panel out to change a speedo cable and that's another story (using a stat nav for now).

The joys of Land Rover.

Too cold to be outside messing but when it warms up a bit I’ll ease the dash out and have a poke around with the ignition on and see if I can get the light to go out. I’m ruling out the sender as its a new unit and I still have the light on with all 3 leads disconnected. I’ll update if I get any success !!

A 1991 has a low fuel light electronic module that uses the fuel sender signal. It is a little board taped up in the loom behind the cluster. Probably not replaceable as it does not exist in any parts book.... The photo is what it looks like after extracting from deep under the tape.

post-608-0-22549300-1460344004_thumb.jpg

Hi Red90, would you know how a1986 110 csw 2.5nad works?

I "think" the earlier trucks used the sender directly. The senders have a separate low fuel contact. It should be the white/slate wire.