Very, very dead P38

Arjan

Sorry if this is in the wrong section - but I'm in France and he's in Holland...

My friend has been given as a form of "payment" 2.6 tonnes of Range Rover P38 - 1997 with a nice 4.6 and some 170,000 miles on it. It looks nice.

Slight problem : although all paperwork is there, the "keycode" is lost so the thing is "dead."

Is there any easy solution or does this mean a trip to the dealer with the well known bill ?

I have no experience with them what so ever...

Have your friend put the key into position II, then disconnect battery. Wait 5 minutes or so, then reconnect battery with the key in pos II still. I used to use this technique whenever I worked on the RR and needed the battery disconnecting. It always allowed me to do this without having to reprogram keys or use eka. IIRC when you reconnect the battery and with key still in pos II you lock and unlock on the remote and it would work ok from then on, you'd still have to set Windows etc.

Also, there was a default eka code of 1515, that may work.

cheers, Steve

The remote trick sounds interesting, although I haven't been able to make that work yet.

That default EKA is only for the US market IIRC.

It may need it to be in an unlocked state for this to work, as naturally I never tried it from a locked state.

The default was for multiple markets, but I have no idea which ones. Logic would dictate that it was for all markets where they didn't activate the unique eka function.

cheers, Steve

Different vehicle but the Sheffield Land Rover dealer gave me my EKA code FOC. I went in with my V5 for the Defender I'd just bought together with some i/d and they printed data for me that included the code.

Well.... It gets interesting as the code given to the owner is not what the BCM wants..

It seems the BCM is a new one and this could make it interesting.. The 1515 doesn't work..

I suggested to scrap the thing but he is still trying.... Could end up taking the thing to the dealer..