Glow Plug Warning Lamp Not Working

Bradshaw

Hi,

I am a total newbie to LR - I have just bought a series III 4 weeks ago - 2 weeks have been off the road with blown head gasket.

Just got everything running again - so I am now trying to resolve a few electrical niggles - the one I am working on now is the glow plug warning lamp not working.

Glow plugs are working fine

Bulb is ok

Wire continuity seems ok

I believe the previous owner told me it has the defender glow plug upgrade in parallel.

Any idea as the first place to start looking for the fault please

Thanks

Si

OK, we will assume it's the original 2.25 diesel, in which case the original heater plug circuit comprised 4 plugs AND a ballast resistor, all wired in series. The warning light was connected in parallel with the ballast resistor. In this arrangement each plug got about 1.7 volts, so that's about 7 volts for the plugs, the other 5 being dissipated by the ballast resistor, and also powering the 6v warning light.

If someone has fitted the parallel plug conversion to the 2.25 engine then all plugs get full voltage, and there is no need for the ballast resistor, so the 'source' of the nominal 6 volts to power the bulb has disappeared.

You should find the bulb holder is insulated from the casing, and has two wires. Now you change the bulb to a standard 12v 2.2w MES bulb, as used to illuminate the instruments, and also used for the other warning lights. You connect one of the wires to Earth, and the other to the single wire that is daisy chained across the tops of the heater plugs.
Let's just make this clear, if it is a parallel plug installation there is a single wire connected to all four plugs. In a series installation there are two wires, connected to different places on each plug.

The other point, for the future, is that the parallel plugs for the 2.25 are different to the parallel plugs used in any of the later 2.5 engines, whether they are known as 2.5, 200TDi, or 300TDi