Taps Dies and thread taps - where to start?

Peaklander

Hi

I could count on one hand, well maybe two, how many holes I've cut a thread in over the years. So that tells you I have no experience. I have had to clean holes and screws in the past and I've done it a variety of ways, rarely with a proper set of taps / dies.

In preparation for doing my first timing belt change on my 300TDi I read that it's probable that I'll need to pull the crank pulley as it won't be free and therefore it's advised that the four threads are cleaned first. I don't know how likely this is but I thought that I maybe could buy a single tap and holder just in case and I'm sure a 10mm tap would be useful.

Screen Shot 2016-11-14 at 18.44.40.png

However I started to look at stuff for sale and I was inevitably drawn to full sets and that's when I remembered that there are three types of tap and in fact the last time i needed a tap for a proper task, it had to be a bottom tap as it was a blind hole. Most of the cheaper sets only have two taps and in fact I don't have enough faith in them having metric fine and coarse threads as well as the differing types. I presume that even at the ripe old age of 50-something (well a lot more than 50), a nice big set in a wooden box, like the toolroom professionals  have, would be a waste.

Then I saw that actually for learing threads rather than cutting, I'd be better off with a thread chaser - is that the correct term? If so, maybe they are what i need for most Land Rover repair and restoration work (thinking rusty, painted or galved holes etc.). So I was wondering about this kind of item.

Could anyone help me decide what's best? Would a selection of these be better for clearing or would a basic set like this be a better buy, considering that it's likely that as time goes on, I'll spend more time "in the garage"?

Thank you

Taps like everything else are nasty when they are cheap.