Range Rover Classic 3.9litre Low Comp

Hernerover

Hi guys, I'm a newbie to your site.

I own a Rover P6B(manual) that has been fitted with a Range Rover Classic 3.9litre engine. The engine runs fine, but being a Low Comp of 8.13 it is a bit short on power. If I fit a pair of 10 bolt heads, with tin head gaskets what would this do to the compression ratio? Have been told elsewhere that it would increase the C/R to about 9:1 but I don't know if that is true. Can anybody on here verify this for me please?

Many Thanks.

Indeed, thought all the 3.9s from RRCs were high compression (9.35:1).

Confusingly though, the 4.0 from the P38 came in low compression mode, and could be that the much later Disco 3.9 came in low comp also?

You can work out the compression ratio of you know the cylinder volume, head gasket thickness (and therefore volume increase in the cylinder), piston dish volume and the chamber volume... but you need to have the engine apart to confirm all these.

Having said all this, Rover V8 compression is normally set by the piston, and not the head... by varying the dish size. To raise it, if the engine is at all worn, I would be looking to swap out the pistons and do a hone while in there.

Engines Nos commencing 37D00001 and 38D00001 are low compression @ 8.13:1. 10 bolt heads have smaller combustion chambers due to fact that they skimmed at the factory to accommodate the increased thickness  of the composite gasket. My thinking was to fit a pair of the 10 bolt heads rather than having the existing ones skimmed. I am just trying to find out how much this would increase the compression ratio.

Adrian.

Yes, I think I am familiar with the thread you are referring to !!  The main contributor said at the end of his last major posting on that thread, that retro fitting post 94 heads onto a pre 94  9.35:1 c/r engine, would result in the c/r being increased by 1.6:1 .  My question is, what would be the effect of doing the same to a pre 94 8.15:1 c/r engine ?