My Freelander just stops whilst driving

dutchy_brit

I have a beautiful Freelander 1.8, R reg., petrol, which whilst driving it starts to hick-up and then decides to come to a stand still. I can start it right away and it will drive for a couple of hundred meters and then does it again. One day it stopped 6 times when I decided to call the AA.

We have done the obvious: clean fuel lines, replaced fuel filter, cleaned the petrol inlet which caused a vacuum. The guy that serviced it had it taken to a Landrover garage but they couldn't find anything. Also, typical, when he drove it -long distance - nothing happened. It's not that I am a female driver, it also does it when my hubby drives it.

The AA man came up with a possible (!) airvalve fault and was otherwise baffled.

Could it have something to do with the starter system? The alarm just goes of for no apparent reason. It's so frustrating! And with 3 kids a bit worrying too! Hope someone can help us!!!!!! :(

I have a beautiful Freelander 1.8, R reg., petrol, which whilst driving it starts to hick-up and then decides to come to a stand still. I can start it right away and it will drive for a couple of hundred meters and then does it again. One day it stopped 6 times when I decided to call the AA.

We have done the obvious: clean fuel lines, replaced fuel filter, cleaned the petrol inlet which caused a vacuum. The guy that serviced it had it taken to a Landrover garage but they couldn't find anything. Also, typical, when he drove it -long distance - nothing happened. It's not that I am a female driver, it also does it when my hubby drives it.

The AA man came up with a possible (!) airvalve fault and was otherwise baffled.

Could it have something to do with the starter system? The alarm just goes of for no apparent reason. It's so frustrating! And with 3 kids a bit worrying too! Hope someone can help us!!!!!! :(