can any one help

stubbo

Hi everyone

I am new to both this site & also being a Disco owner.

OK here is the story so far. Bought a very cheap Disco. Over all not in too bad a condition. But the gear box was whining (really badly) so ok need a gear box! found one out of a scrapper. ok so it is an unknown.

Had a good look at it. No play in the shaft and goes through the gears on the deck smoothly.

The day before i was due to put it in the Disco it started to feel like something was starting to bind up when rolling very slowly. You know stick then free up & so on. Well not to worry new box in tomorrow. The day came & my son (a hgv mechanic)& i had to drive the Disco 7 miles to the garage. Set off through the village up through the box, got to 4th & bang all four wheels lock up. Managed to rock the car back & forth on the gears & eventually got it to move. So we thought not a good idea to use 4th. About half way there 3rd gear starts to chew itself to bits. Got it into 2nd just in time. Rest of journey slow but OK. Got old box out & yep you could get hold of the shaft & move it. Loads of play. Six hours of the air turning blue with 4 letter words & a good supply of blood to the Land Rover God the box is in (never again i hope).Started Disco put it in to gear & let the clutch out. Crunch! It felt like the car was fighting the gears & locked up.

OK here is where i need help

Symptoms;

All 4 wheels lock up

Transfer box does not feel right, won't go in to neutral (you let the clutch out & you can hear the gears not quite meshing but not disengaged either)

Gear box with clutch in feels smooth. Goes into all gears & starts to bite if you ride the clutch.

So any ideas? Did we kill the transfer box (or was it on it's way out?)

Is the new box we put in a duff?

Or did we do something wrong when we did the swap?