300Tdi on Veg Oil? any experience of this

Hi everyone I'm new to Landrover ownership and have not long had the pleasure of a 300Tdi 110 CSW in the family.

I'm trying to keep the running costs down (and give the Tax man as little money as possible ;) )and am interested in running my Land rover on veg oil, or preferably a veg oil/diesel mix as I understand this should need less alterations (fuel pre-heater, new injectors etc) than straight veg oil does.

Does anyone have any experience of this especially with a 300Tdi.

Cheers Jim

Hi everyone I'm new to Landrover ownership and have not long had the pleasure of a 300Tdi 110 CSW in the family.

I'm trying to keep the running costs down (and give the Tax man as little money as possible ;) )and am interested in running my Land rover on veg oil, or preferably a veg oil/diesel mix as I understand this should need less alterations (fuel pre-heater, new injectors etc) than straight veg oil does.

Does anyone have any experience of this especially with a 300Tdi.

Cheers Jim

Don't mix .. It'll be fine for a while, then it will die.

The 300Tdi is the second best engine ever fitted into a defender.(I'm entitled to my opinion!) It would be a shame to kill it.

Fit a proper kit. The initial outlay is quite high, but the payback is much higher than mixing, and at least it isn't killing your engine.

http://forums.lr4x4.com/index.php?showtopi...rt=#entry220371

Don't mix .. It'll be fine for a while, then it will die.

The 300Tdi is the second best engine ever fitted into a defender.(I'm entitled to my opinion!) It would be a shame to kill it.

Fit a proper kit. The initial outlay is quite high, but the payback is much higher than mixing, and at least it isn't killing your engine.

http://forums.lr4x4.com/index.php?showtopi...rt=#entry220371

Could you quantify why you say this, i use a blend (80/20 veg/diesel) on my 200tdi and its fine...