New Series 3 owner and a few questions

weatherm

Hey Guys and gals. Just got me a descent 1980 series 3 2.25 petrol that has a few quirks and stuff. Anyways I'll post up pics asap.

1st question:

Transmission is a bit tricky to find 1st and 2nd. Is this normal? Its my first time drivng on the other side of the vehicle so I know this has something to do with it.

Also the Fairley OD makes a high pitch noise when its running and a little geary... Is this normal. I watched a youtube vid and his video made the same noise as mine. Seems like gear mesh... just wanted some opinions...

2nd question:

Rear pinion seal area is leaking just a tad... do I just need to tighten the nut by taking off the drive shaft and hitting it with a air ratchet or is there a more subtle approach. I say this because there is no place in the prop shaft at all. Its nice and solid and not much leaks out at all.

All in all I have a pretty good rover that doesn't leak much at all.

Ill be asking plenty of noob questions later on so bare with me and nice to meet you guys !

Fairey overdrives to whine quite alarmingly - use it in 3rd/4th only and engage with the clutch, the same as any other gear. Try changing the gearbox oil (EP80/90), see if any bits of metal come out.

The rear pinion nut is preloaded, so you can't nip it up if it's already correct. The seal may just be worn, but the drive flange may be also - the seal wears a groove in the contact area of the seal lip (known as the 'land') If this is the case, then a new flange and seal will cure the problem if the pinion bearings are ok. You can only accurately assess the condition of the pinion bearings with no load on them (prop off, and slack in the axle)

Les.

Ok gear box oil will be changed asap.

Sounds good on the pinion directions.