Elusive Mystery Crunching/snapping/tapping Diagnosis

I know that this question has the potential to be one of those "my cars making strange noises questions" so I will endeavor to give as much information as possible; (additionally please note I am by no means an expert, so this is still all a bit new)

Vehicle in question is a 200tdi 93 disco manual;

This is what happened- Driving on the motorway steadily at 70, the vehicle was cruising comfortably with no unusual noises. (The only existing mechanical issues the car suffers from is a starter motor which occasionally "chattered" on start up and a handbrake light which flashed on occasionally, neither of these issue have ever affected the vehicle when driving, the handbrake was not seized, I made sure of this). So as mentioned cruising at 70, when a snapping noise occurred and it sounded like something was banging/crunching in tune with the speed of the vehicle( i.e the banging speed was proportional to the movement of the vehicle, so as I slowed the banging, crunching did as well), the noise came from the front half of the vehicle(but on hearing it I would not ascertain where specifically) I Pulled into the hard shoulder as it sounded fairly serious and pulled into a service station 200 meters further up, where I stopped to have a look underneath the vehicle and in the engine compartment and found;

- all belts in tact

- nothing fouling any of the drive belt paths

- nothing fouling the paths wheels or tyres

- propshafts secure and clear to rotate(ujs all good)

- Handbrake was not binding(I took the drum off and checked its operation

- The vehicle did not make the noise when stationary, or when revved stationary (only under forward movement) the noise was present under high, low and difflock, but not as prominent in reverse.

- the engine ran nicely and did not appear to be affected by the noise.

- Gear change and clutch operated perfectly.(high/ low transfer were a bit more "clunky" than normal)