New Defender 110 csw 300TDI owner

Hello, I have just bought a Defender 110 CSW 300TDI and thought I would introduce myself.

I am new to LR ownership but have driven a few mostly on road with a little off roading (including a course in N.Yorks) in previous employmnet. I live in West Yorkshire and have an interest in all things mechanical, mainly 4 wheeled but used to be into bikes too. I work in development for a large diesel engine company and get a lot of time working on engines, turbos' and fabricating.

We (the wife and I!) have just bought the above for throwing the kids bikes/ pushchairs in as well as tip runs and general weekned work. I fancied it as I knew I would be able to get plenty of 'spannering in' and the wife liked the idea of 12 seats (3 kids are enough but handy to be able to take friends out with us). The kids needed no convincing, one look at one and they were sold :D I have always liked the character of the LR and the fact that it is a British icon had me sold. I bought a vehicle which I know needs some work but the chassis is in a condition that allows me to carry out most other repairs without taking it off the road for too long. It is a second vehicle for us.

I have been on the hunt for a 110 CSW with tips from various sites on what to look out for when buying for about a month. I viewed 3 in total, above, below and on budget to get a feel of what I would get for my money. I managed to find a low mileage 2 owner 1997 CSW that has spent the last 9 years on a small holding. I think the underside has never been cleaned as everything had about 4" of dry mud protecting it. Needless to say the chassis is in excellent conditon and the original factory finish is clearly intact. The bulkhead is perfect as is the original rear cross member. Overall it is in sound condition.

It isn't without fault though as I clearly need to undertake some mechanical repairs. Mainly (in order that they bug me):