Transmission question

RearEngined

Just a quick question everyone. While i am not 100% familiar with the Classic RangeRover 'setup' when it comes to gear selection and actual resulting operation my machine has recently shown signs it is not happy. OK, this is the only automatic 'oldschool Rangie' i have ever driven so i am not that experienced in what it should be doing (which is kind of dumb really i know).

This is my road-legal rear engined offroader with the transmission and transfer case selectors turned round.

IMG_2056_800x.jpg

At this stage i could simply go buy a wrecker's (breaker's) ZF and BW and take a gamble they are ok and swap them over.

The main trouble is that when shifting the transfer case 'H' provides drive. 'N' and 'L' when shifted to (which can only be achieved with the engine shutdown and handbreak off) results in a nasty grinding noise, no movement and loadup on the trans once the engine is running. Obviously something has grenaded inside. (Interestingly in soft sand things go very 'screwie' as the machine tries to pull side to side while in "H") so most beach driving is done on hard sand and the problem doesn't occur on the highway. My thought here is that a mostly failed transfer case is no longer transferring torque to the diffs properly...?

My last bit of advise i need is should i simply 'invest' in another rebuilt exchange 4HP-22 and LT230 (13-61-005) and be done with it (= big dent in bank balance)? The engine and diffs are fine.

Sorry to sound like an utter newbie but yuh need to learn at some point.... Thanks.

Are you putting it in neutral/park when shifting to low/high?

Are you sure you haven't broken a half shaft or got adragging brake? I don't think a broken transfer case will give you the symptoms you describe...

Are you putting it in neutral/park when shifting to low/high?

Are you sure you haven't broken a half shaft or got adragging brake? I don't think a broken transfer case will give you the symptoms you describe...