threaded stud replacement

TUNA

i'm new to the landy world. just wondering if there is anything special i should know about replacing the stud. could'nt find anything in the haynes or brooklands manual. i still need to get the green bible. thanks !!post-46859-0-95557500-1365092554_thumb.pngpost-46859-0-95557500-1365092554_thumb.pngpost-46859-0-95557500-1365092554_thumb.png

'The wheel stud'.

Series Land Rovers have been around for so long, and attract people who see nothing wrong in playing around, changing parts to ones from different years 'because it was available' or 'because it was cheaper'. Due to this it is a mistake to take too much for granted, and say 'because it's this model', and 'because it was built in 1969', this is what you will find .... .

There are two different diameters of wheel stud, 9/16" and 16mm. You need to know which yours are, because the wheel nuts are noticeably different sizes.

9/16" studs come in two flavours, ones that thread into the hub, and ones that have a serrated section and are pulled into the hub, where the serrations form a tight interference fit which stops them turning. These serrated type also have a flange on the inner end so it's impossible to pull them through the hub. You cannot just unscrew a threaded type and replace it with a serrated type, the thread has to be drilled out of the hub first.

I don't know a great deal about 16mm studs, as they are too big for my vehicles. I believe they also have serrated ends, and they will come in different lengths, because military wheels, in particular, are made from thicker steel. I assume you appreciate that some things carried on unchanged from the Series era to the 90, then the Defender. 16mm stud diameter being one of those things.

The commonest cause of 'losing' a stud is because it was a 9/16 threaded type and became unscrewed from the hub.