2000ish 110 Van TD5 or 300TDI ?

Ok

I'm starting to look for a 2000ish 110 Defender Van style to do a bit of a camper conversion. I'm going to be doing a good few miles in this possibly 45 a day for work.

I'm selling my Volvo S60 2.4D I'm fed up with computers and ECUs etc

Please correct me if I'm wrong :-

the TD5 is probably what I want in terms of squeezing best MPG out but with added electronics

300TDI less electronics but worse (but not by much) MPG ?

My budget is going to be around £5K from what I'm looked around at this is possible with a bit of hunting and not completely unrealistic.

I had a 2.5NA 1984 90 many years ago and want to get back into the Land Rover thing again.

Is anyone in the Kilmarnock area with a 110 they'd show to me and get a feel for ?

All big asks for a newbie here sorry.

For road work id say td5, for reliability possibly go with 300tdi. From what I've heard, the earlier td5 engines, which a 2000 would be, have been known to be troublesome with things like cracked heads and injector wiring look faults. Possibly looking at your budget you'd get a better tidier 300.

Just my thoughts anyway.

Graeme,

The Tdi vs Td5 argument has been raging for decades and there is no true answer. However the following observations can be drawn that I think most people would agree with:

- There's not much in it MPG-wise, in my experience the Tdi generally gives a few MPG more however so many other factors affect it it's not worth using as a decision factor.

- The Td5 is a far smoother/refined and more powerful engine in standard form, this makes it arguably more suited to high-speed road driving.

- The Tdi is simpler in terms of the engine itself and the electrical system.

- The Td5 has known faults (head dowels, oil in loom etc.) but then so does the Tdi (P gasket, water pump position). All are well documented.