Identifying Td5's

Fellas, I'm usually over in the other sections but need your help.

I'm after a Hybrid with a Td5 in. Trouble is there are no details about the engine. Judging by the G/box and it's short stick it's all out of a Disco but is seemingly running a Defender ECU.

I'll be looking to get it remapped sometime soon but don't know how to tell how old the engine is and also how old the ECU is - i.e. pre/post '02 and mappable or not.

Is there any way, engine numbers, serial numbers on the ECU?

Also anything you can tell me about checking a Td5 over, as in buying guide would help a lot also as I'm new to the engine. I don't wanna buy a turkey.

Cheers!

Post up the part number on the ECU it will most likely be MSBxxxxxx or NNNxxxxxx that is a good place to start. The mappable post 02 ones are all NNN part number AFAIK but if you post it up I will check it at work and see what age it was fitted to. Though if it is a hybrid it could be a mix and match job.

I remember hearing that the ECU had to be matched to the engine which had caused problems for transplants - but if this one is running ok then it shouldn't be a problem.

I could be talking rubbish though.

No you're right, something about the ECU needing to be given the values of each EUI.

I'll post up the S/N as soon as I get a chance.

Thanks guys. Even the steer on the NNN or MSB is a great help.

If this is originally a Disco lump but being run by a Defender ECU then it's running in 122bhp form right? The lumps were identical and the higher bhp value of the Disco was achieved through ECU mapping - am I right?

Also lets say the Defender ECU was never programed with the original values of the Disco's injectors, am I screwed - as in is there any way of sorting it out?