Water in defender engine - help!

Hi,

Help needed please!! I've got a 1989 Defender 90 pick up 2.5 turbo diesel. Went off roading for first time last weekend and went wading a bit too deep.....

Water must have only just breached the air intake but i think some did go in as symptons are as follows:

1) Lots of white smoke/steam from engine and exhaust immediately afterwards but ran fine for 30-40 mins then went to go home......

2) Started up fine and sounds normal.

3) At low revs sounds and drives normal.

4) Once past what i guess is about 2000 rpm you get no more power from her - if you press the accelarator then no change in engine noise but you do then get black smoke from the exhaust (more you press the accerator the more smoke you get).

So she's now very slow and tops out at about 35mph. She got me home but what do I do next - I'm no mechanic. Helpful suggestions about whats gone wrong and what I should do next ... please!

Cheers

Dan

but you do then get black smoke from the exhaust (more you press the accerator the more smoke you get).

Black smoke would be unburnt diesel, probably cause it's not getting enough air to burn completely, because of your blocked air filter.

Guest diesel_jim
1) Lots of white smoke/steam from engine and exhaust immediately afterwards but ran fine for 30-40 mins then went to go home......

2) Started up fine and sounds normal.

3) At low revs sounds and drives normal.

4) Once past what i guess is about 2000 rpm you get no more power from her - if you press the accelarator then no change in engine noise but you do then get black smoke from the exhaust (more you press the accerator the more smoke you get).

So she's now very slow and tops out at about 35mph. She got me home but what do I do next - I'm no mechanic. Helpful suggestions about whats gone wrong and what I should do next ... please!

for a 2.5 turbo that sounds like a good state of tune... :lol:

(sorry, wasn't very helpful...)

Thanks for all your replies.