New LR Owner...excited, but slightly disappointed...

4XGeek

Hey guys, obviously I am a newbie, (first post) and have recently purchased (two days ago) a 2001 Discovery II V8 SE7. I have wanted one for years, and finally found a nice clean one and was presented with an opportunity to purchase it (insurance check for my previously totaled SUV). Yes, I am on the other side of the puddle (Atlantic) and have several initial questions on my new toy.

I was disappointed to discover my SE7 has ACE, therefore after two days of research, is not able to be lifted and tire size increased for ground clearance. :o I would like any information concerning the limitations, and or modifications of a Disco II with ACE.

Secondly, my SE7 also has air suspension rear, once again, a limitation for my future modifications to a serious 4x4. :o Any feedback would be appreciated.

On a last note, my NA version, I do not have the differential lock lever mechanism, although my transfer case does have the ability to lock. How difficult is the procedure to install the lever mechanism, and can I purchase a used one from the UK and have it shipped to me for install? :unsure:

Also, could someone please place a link to Nigel thread on getting a V8 ready for water fording? I was about to order a snorkel, and was informed my Disco II V8 could not enter water deeper than the hubs. Once again, major disappointment. :angry:

Again, thank you for listing to my rant, and putting up with my newbie questions. :rolleyes:

Robert

Alabama, USA

Welcome :)