RRC Airflow meter

MikeAK

Hi,

Bit of a long shot this one, but does anyone have the specs for the airflow meters used on the RRC. I am loking for data on both the the flapper (2AM) fitted to the 3.5 and the later hotwire (3AM I think) fitted to the 3.9. What I need is the voltage output vs airflow.

The idea is to make a conversion box to allow the later hotwire to be used in place of a flapper (I am an electronics engineer). I've found the flapper system is fairly reliable on the whole apart from the flapper itself, hence the idea.

Regards

Mike

While you could do this - with a bit of fiddling,I cant really see the benefit.What would be worth doing is to swap the efi over to 14CUX,then you have a reliable ECU,AFM,proper control of idle speed,(inc A/C comp load) and the ability to run open or closed loop.The engine will run like it never has before.

Or alternatively.. remove AFM* then launch it in the direction of the nearest bin and fit Megasquirt n EDIS / Spark :lol:

*Promptly followed by inner gubbins of distributor.

Regarding voltage/airflow of the AFMs, you may get better exposure in the International forum as the question is common to Rover V8s - maybe a helpful mod could move it?

Welcome to the forum by the way :)

Hi,

I know about megasquirt and 14CUX. The reason for not going down either of those roads is down cost, money scarce at the moment. I could build a conveter unit using bits I can pickup at work. It wouldn't need to be much more than an A/D converter a lookup table and a D/A converter (probably using a PIC) and a relay to take the place of the fuel pump switch, I just need the specs of the airflow meters. Also I like to do this sort of thing for fun!! Just like the tin bashers like to spend a weekend patching somthing like a lace curtain crossmember back together rather than just glue a new one on! ;)