Goodwinch TDS Internal Switch Wiring

ThreePointFive

I have a switch for my TDS inside the cab that I haven't wired up yet but it would be very useful to bring into use.

I'm a complete winch novice as I've only ever had the TDS, are wiring diagrams largely the same between the brands or do I need something specific to the TDS?

After some googling I'm struggling to find a specific one that has a switch rather than the basic handheld setup.

I've seen a switch directly (no relay or fuses) driving the winch on a generic diagram so I decided to seek the collective expertise of the forum before something gets melted.

I assume it's a mom-off-mom switch? TDS solenoids are the same as albright and just about any other all-in-one winch solenoid.

In which case then you just need a three-core harness going to your winch, and piggybacking off the solenoid terminals. To winch one way, connect the middle to one of the outer terminals, to winch the other, connect middle to the other outer terminal. You can test by just shorting between the terminals with whatever you have to hand.

Your switch just needs to facilitate this, centre terminal goes to the 'in' on your switch, and the two other go to the MOM on terminals.

Run an inline fuse in the harness where it comes off the solenoid, or you have an unfused feed going into the cabin....

• Thanks 1

Handheld is in the end also just a switch so wiring is not too difficult.

However, what you need to consider is priority.. Master - slave

If you have 2 controls for the winch this could potentially lead to both being operated at the same time.

Otherwise you could end up with a serious problem.

• Thanks 1

I tend to put a secondary switch with warning lamp inside, interrupting the feed to the MOM switch, that way you can't bump the MOM switch and suddenly winch in/out accidentally.