Recommendations for a plasma cutter?

Jon White

Anyone got any thoughts?

I've been looking at the single phase, inverter plasma's, and am obviously avoiding the cheap chinese ones from ebay and the like. So far I've seen a Sureweld Plasma 41, and Newarc Plasma 40. Both single phase, british made inverter units with 40amp output. Of the two i think the Newarc machine has a slightly higher duty cycle so am more in favour of this one. Price wise both come in at just a tad over £500 +vat. Both are rated for up to 10mm steel, but the sureweld can do 12mm max, and the Newarc 16mm

Anyone got any experience of either of these machines, or got a specific recommendation for something different?

Cheers

Jon

Jon, just to clarify - it 'must' be single phase? (You just missed an 80 amp (output) Hypertherm (nice) on ebay for 512 quid, but it was 3 phase).

I've never used a Newarc, but I do have a Sureweld one which I've been using for about 7 years. It has lasted well, it is one of their inverter ones. Overall I'm very pleased with it. I would recommend them based on the rough treatment it has had (inverters being small tend to get thrown around a bit more!) and keeps going, but its only a 1/4" capacity, so the exact model isn't much use to you (it is one size down I think).

I too would choose the higher duty cycle in general, but at least the above is some real-world data... Did you test them both? Be wary of the claimed capacities, since it basically depends on how slow you are prepared to cut. I think the nominal capacity should be at a minimum of 10"/minute feed rate.

As with welders, I'd also go for a transformer based one if space/portability wasn't a factor? But having said that my inverter has been great (and my transformer one refuses to play ball!) :rolleyes:

Check the prices of torch consumables - this would be a factor in a future choice for me, if you use it a lot, it can really add up!