complete novice looking for advice

dave88sw

Hi,

I've been doing a fair bit of reading around megasquirt/jolt and i'd really like to give it a go but ive got a few reservations before i part with any cash, mostly the issue of me not really having a clue what to expect or how to tune the engine post installation to get the best from the system.

Bit of background; I've got a swb series 3 with a 2.5 petrol from an early 90, took it off the road early jan because i simply couldnt afford the running costs as my everyday car. I had plans to fit a tdi and get it back on the road but it just seems too much like a cop-out to me, i know theres better to be had from the 2.5 and i like to be a bit different.

Now i've currently found 2 very useful sites showing other peoples attempts (both on 2.25's but they're so similar to the 2.5 i'm sure there's no issue there). One shows full megasquirt install but doesnt go into great detail. The other just megajolt alone, but does go into a little more detail.

megasquirt:

http://www.melsteve.plus.com/LandRover/

megajolt:

http://otly.church-walk.com/Megajolt/page1.html

I suppose my question really is; just how difficult is it to scratch build one of these systems?

I'd love to go full megasquirt with fuel injection, i gather the best way to do this is to fit a ford edis system and megasquirt is then capable of controlling fuel and ignition.

Alternatively fit the edis system and link to megajolt for ignition only.

(i don't need megajolt if using a megasquirt ecu?)

The fabrication i can do no problem, the wiring i'm happy with etc etc, all im worried about is the initial fire up and then fine tuning, i don't want to spend loads of money and have nothing to show for it.

How is the tuning done? I've never done anything like this before, is it out of reach for a novice?