swivel joint dilema

discodave

hello there, can anyone tell me if a pair of complete swivel joints from a 1988 range rover will fit my 1995 300 tdi disco? my balls are corroded and i'm leaking oil but cant decide if it would be better just to bite the bullit and get new ball kits and start emptying my bank account in ernest, does that sound a bit off colour?, or try for some second hand jobs! (oh dear). :blush: i'm new to the joys and nightmares of land rover ownership and would be grateful for any advice. cheers.

welcome to the forum Dave.

i think that the swivel balls themselves will fit as far as i know the axle cases didnt change. however the CVs/shafts etc will be different. the disco has 24spline as far as im aware. so they wont fit unless you get the disco diff too.

Dave, it might work but you'll probably need to get a set of swivel housings to suit and then bolt on the original stubaxles, hubs etc.

My advice if funds are short is to repair your corroded swivles using a fibreglass repair kit and then just replace the seals. Nice and cheap and it works if you do it carefully.

Personally I'd replace with new - short term fixes generally work out more expensive and you end up doing the job twice.

Paddocks have an offer on what they call "complete" swivel kits at the mo - new teflon swivels and all the seals/shims you need - about £50/£60 a side I think...? (no, I don't work for them!)

You know then that it's been done, and is one less thing to worry about.

:)

Matt