2002 TD5 auto started, died, cranked for a while then fine

Ratty43

Evening all,

I'm new to the joys of TD5 ownership and in general it's cracking (I'm still getting used to getting better mpg at 70 than 60 and being able to hear things!)but....

As a bit of background the car has covered 138k miles with pretty much full service history and runs perfectly.

A couple of weeks back I stopped for fuel, climbed back in turned the key and it started and a second later died. I cranked it again and unlike the usual instant start it just turned over for a while with not even a try at starting. Left it for ten seconds and it started first turn. I assumed having changed the fuel filter that morning it was an air bubble and thought no more about it.

Today it did it the same thing to me, almost exactly the same although the engine was cold this time.

I'm buying a Nanocom this weekend if for nothing more than glove box peace of mind but I would appreciate any pointers or similar experiences.

Thanks in advance!

Hi, wait for the nanocom and read fault codes, if you get something like "noisy crank signal" or other crank sensor related fault check the crank sensor's plug to not be corroded or loosened, meanwhile you can swap relays R9(main) with R8(heated screen) to rule out a dodgy mai relay cos that would give you crank-no start symptoms as well... also check the ECU red plug to not be full of oil, if it is you need a new injector harness(disconnect the battery before you play with the ECU)

Thanks for that. Amazingly there's no oil in the loom even at the head connection as I had thought it might be that.

I've got a stack of relays from a D1 that I scrapped years back so I might swap them in as a check.

Occasional faults always are a pain although I can't complain as it beats being stranded!