spacers?

hi guys,

just wondering if i could pic your brain on the topic of wheel spacers, to give my landy a bit more chunk and better handleing. whats the biggest i could go wihout cropping off a chunk of the wheel arch? and do they improve the handleing that much. thanks in adance,,,

sunshine

I'm no expert on this but I can't imagine spacers improving the handling... all you are doing is making the track wider and seeing as LandRovers have solid front & rear axles that isn't going to change anything much? Off road you might find an improvement - marginally less chance of rolling it & slightly more stable?

Most off road dealers sell 1" spacers for about £150, though the effect is much the same as when you fit non-Landrover wheels like Modulars as they often have more offset.

Going over 1" may be risky, wear out bearings and are difficult to source anyway??

Guest diesel_jim

I've run spacers on my old Td5 110 SW, and had no problems at all... apart from when one of the steering joints got a bit tired (can't remember now if it was the dro arm balljoint or the steering box itself) but it tended to "amplify" the wheel wobble.

going to fit them to my current project110 also.

difference in handling? hmmm... barely noticible really, but certainly worth it for asthetic value... pushing my alloys out an extra inch either side made it (IMO) look better.

Of course.... with the wheels sticking out that little bit further you get that little bit more poo being splashed up onto the sides of your vehicle; whether that bothers you or not.