Thinking about a Disco...

Matt S

Hi all,

Sorry to gatecrash :ph34r: but just popped over from Freelander forum to ask a question - hopefully one that's not just been asked a million times before...

I love the Freelander :lol: but think that due to new house purchase it may have to go, and be replaced with something horrific like an Astra... However this will open the door to some sort of other Landie, but now to be used as a second car. Looking on Auto Trader I have seen quite a few Disco 300Tdi's and V8's(which I like the look of a lot) for around £1000-£2000, often with big mileage (180k+). My question is this; would one of these be any good for a 10 mile daily commute/odd long journey/tip trips/weekend greenlaning etc or would it just swallow too much money?? I am no mechanic but don't mind having a go, but generally need reliability as I work odd shifts. The Freebie is quite reasonable to run apart from £70+ fill-up, what could I expect from a (tired) Disco? At the moment I'm just thinking about it so would welcome any ideas/suggestions.

Cheers

Matt

A few months back I had a Disco 300tdi and a Series 2A land rover with the thought that at least one would always be on the road at once, I managed but it was a struggle, I spent every weekend fixing one or the other. Only managed 7 months then the worst one had to go so I sold the Disco, and bought a brand new Astra SRI which I use for going to work with no hassles (everything under warranty - no MOT etc etc) I then spend time on just the series and use it once a week or so for work and go playing on Sundays in it. The series is also a lot more capable off road than the disco was, the disco could be better but would need £££'s spending and would probably reduce it's reliability even further.

You asked if it would swallow money. Probably not but it would swallow time, I only spent about £100 on mine in 7 months but spent far too many hours

Hi there,