Axle oil leak

Dan110

Hi there,

Just after any pointers anyone might have - i'm a novice at all this.

The other day, after a sedate 15 mile journey, my hub cap popped off my drivers side front axle on my 1986 110, with what looked like a cap full of oil under pressure (from the pattern of the splash).

My (uneducated) guess was the my breathers aren't breathing and the oil has found its way out from the diff. I can sort the breather, but does anyone have any pointers on what seal might have gone (i've never had an an axle apart) and if it's likely to be a home fix by a slightly competent DIY'er with basic tools or a garage job.

The leak has continued dripping since. I've not had a chance to check the oil level in the diff yet but that'll be my next job.

Thanks in advance

Dan

There is a small oil seal on the inner side of the stub axle, some people remove this to allow oil to migrate down the drive shaft, others keep it in.

Definitely sounds like you breather is blocked, but before you go changing seals, I'd just clean up the drive flange itself and buy a new plastic cap, they do perish and crack over time and don't seat properly.

Mav

Quick tip for testing a breather (if you can get to the end of it) blow down it, then take it out your mouth quick as if its working as it should - some oily smelling air will get pushed back out the end.

I've been tackling a repeatedly blocked transfer box breather this way.

I've got extended breathers on all my trucks, but from memory they all pop up behind the engine somewhere as standard... the breather connects onto the top of the "hi/low" lever housing on top of the transfer box, you can get to it from underneath, its more of a feel thing than see...

See the red plug on the photos...

230cf.jpg

Sorry, another quick question. Thanks for bearing with me!

The leak has continued with the new breathers - albeit slightly slower.