Jump to content


Photo

P38 - ABS, Hand Brake, TC light come on when i press the brake pedal


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 zim

zim

    Caring Forum Counsellor

  • Supporters
  • 1,836 posts
  • Location:Offshore Vietnam / Manchester(ish)

Posted 05 December 2009 - 07:01 PM

Hi,

So what's wrong with my p38 ?

When i press my brake pedal the traction control, handbrake and abs light come on for about a second then go out.

From searching google i've found :

On the P38 pressing your brake pedal suddenly,will activate your ABS,TC and handbrake lights.When you release the pedal the lights goes off.This is not a fault,as no faultcodes get stored,but a way to tell you the pressure in the accumulator is getting low.Its that round black unit on top of your ABS pump with the yellow warning sticker on it.This is a service replacement part from Land Rover.


I've got new fluid and brake pads.

Is this the case, or are there other possibilities ?

Thanks

Gordon

#2 elbekko

elbekko

    Captain Slow

  • Settled In
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,730 posts
  • Location:Hoegaarden, Belgium

Posted 05 December 2009 - 09:06 PM

Sounds like an electrical problem. Check your battery and alternator, I'd say.
Range Rover Classic '95 Softdash 300TDi
Range Rover P38a '99 4.6 HSE

#3 vougese39

vougese39

    Old Hand

  • Settled In
  • PipPipPip
  • 309 posts
  • Location:midlands

Posted 07 December 2009 - 04:39 PM

when you bleed the brakes did the fluid get too low? as you could also have drawn air into the booster unit
ARMSON AE! FULL SERVICING,DIAGNOSTICS,V8 SPECIALIST, EMAIL armsonae@yahoo.co.uk http://armsonae.webs.com/
http://rocketsledtuning.webs.com/

#4 zim

zim

    Caring Forum Counsellor

  • Supporters
  • 1,836 posts
  • Location:Offshore Vietnam / Manchester(ish)

Posted 07 December 2009 - 05:11 PM

there is no air in the system i dont think. it was doing it before i changed brake lines.

G

#5 David Sparkes

David Sparkes

    Old Hand

  • Settled In
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,677 posts
  • Location:Derbyshire

Posted 07 December 2009 - 07:08 PM

Why haven't you accepted the response you found originally via Google, that the accumulator needs changing?

#6 SteveG

SteveG

    Old Hand

  • Supporters
  • 2,826 posts
  • Location:Cambridge, UK

Posted 08 December 2009 - 09:44 AM

Just to hijack this thread - it is related ;)

How do you change the accumulator? I've already acquired a new one and O ring and I have read the procedure from the workshop manual, but want to know how you physically fit it.

It looks to be sealed (seems sensible given it's pressure ;)) but there doesn't seem to be any thread etc.

The reason I ask is that I've heard that if you swiftly change it out you don't have to bleed the system.

Thanks

Steve


#7 zim

zim

    Caring Forum Counsellor

  • Supporters
  • 1,836 posts
  • Location:Offshore Vietnam / Manchester(ish)

Posted 08 December 2009 - 11:10 AM

Why haven't you accepted the response you found originally via Google, that the accumulator needs changing?


if it's that which is at fault, then i'll be happy as it looks like an easy job to swap. but there were other answers i found on google including - change abs pump, change abs sensors, ecu fault etc. but the accumulator seemed to come up a couple times. also, when looking on google, i'm relying on people posting who i don't 'know' as such. i may not know many people on this site personally, but over the last couple years from the amount of time spent reading i can sort of tell who is knowledgable and who is just a 'keyboard' mechanic.

i hope this makes sense ?

steveg - there is an excellant review on rangerovers.net for changing it : http://www.rangerove...ccumulator.html

The above site proves my point about who you can trust, the amount of information on there is phenominal and goes into great detail, so in my mind, i don't mind trusting them about things...But there is no mention of my lights popping up :(

Regards

Gordon

#8 David Sparkes

David Sparkes

    Old Hand

  • Settled In
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,677 posts
  • Location:Derbyshire

Posted 08 December 2009 - 11:10 AM

I've never done the job, but isn't it simply a threaded fitting? So a small chain or strap wrench around the accumulator body should give you enough leverage to unscrew it.
Anything that stands over a thousand psi (80 bar) will stand the stress of a chain wrench.

Re RangeRovers.net, mention of things like lights flashing on are probably more common in Forum postings than in the main site.

When I read your fault description I didn't immediately think 'accumulator', but when that was offered as a solution it rang bells with me, so I'd be happy to accept that if it was my car playing up.

HTH

#9 zim

zim

    Caring Forum Counsellor

  • Supporters
  • 1,836 posts
  • Location:Offshore Vietnam / Manchester(ish)

Posted 08 December 2009 - 11:33 AM

Thank you :)

#10 zim

zim

    Caring Forum Counsellor

  • Supporters
  • 1,836 posts
  • Location:Offshore Vietnam / Manchester(ish)

Posted 08 December 2009 - 11:57 AM

I've never done the job, but isn't it simply a threaded fitting? So a small chain or strap wrench around the accumulator body should give you enough leverage to unscrew it.
Anything that stands over a thousand psi (80 bar) will stand the stress of a chain wrench.

Re RangeRovers.net, mention of things like lights flashing on are probably more common in Forum postings than in the main site.

When I read your fault description I didn't immediately think 'accumulator', but when that was offered as a solution it rang bells with me, so I'd be happy to accept that if it was my car playing up.

HTH


i've never used that forum. that is full of info as well :) done some reading, and i'll be ordering an accumulator now :)

G

#11 j55ptk

j55ptk

    Newbie

  • New Faces
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 16 December 2009 - 06:56 AM

Hello, I've just bought a 1999 4.6 Hse with an identical problem, amongst others. Please let me know if the accumulator fixes it, Tim.

#12 zim

zim

    Caring Forum Counsellor

  • Supporters
  • 1,836 posts
  • Location:Offshore Vietnam / Manchester(ish)

Posted 24 February 2010 - 11:13 AM

changing the accumulator fixed it :)

(belated reply)




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users