TD5 10p/15p

TobyMellin

My 2000 90 TD5 has been smoking quite a bit for a while now and a compression test confirmed cylinder 2 was low.

I've been pondering for a while now whether to pull it and rebuild it. As of yesterday afternoon, the cylinder head has failed...again. Header tank was empty and engine locked when I went top start it up this morning. After turning it over by hand I've now concluded the head has cracked again after filling the yard with white smoke.

I've decided I'm going to throw another 'known good' engine in out of a friend who is breaking a few Discoverys.

My question is...should I carry on with the 10p engine, or put a 15p in? 

I can't see any reason why a 15p wouldn't run off the 10p ECU once the injectors are coded? Or would I need the 15p ECU aswel?

Are here any benefits to putting the 15p in?

Has anyone on here done the swap?

I'm a truck mechanic so the swap is not a problem, it's just the differences between the 2 engines I am unsure of.

Thanks in advance

Toby

If it's a fairly straight forward swap (i'm limited on time), then I will throw a 15p in. I just haven't got the time to be going getting pipes made, making brackets etc.

To be honest....I have a feeling my remap has something to do with the constant head cracking (this is the 3rd cylinder head to crack in 3 years....)

It does overfuel quite a lot (black smokes heavily under load) and I am loaded quite a lot of the time due to my fitted toolbox/racking etc and towing trailers.

The map will be getting changed as soon as the head/engine is swapped.

Thanks

Toby

The fuel pressure is different between the two so you would need the correct ECU along with the injector codes. And also the fuel pressure regulator is different too.

Have you pressure tested the cylinder head so you know it's definitely cracked and not just the cylinder head moving because of the plastic dowels and/or the head gasket itself failing?