ACR Power Plus

OWL

Hi All

I am looking to get my 62 3MB Petrol fully restored and been looking at ACR or Turners. The question is has anybody used these two (or any other ) and do you think it was value for money especially the ACR Power Plus engine ?

Cheers

Hi All

I am looking to get my 62 3MB Petrol fully restored and been looking at ACR or Turners. The question is has anybody used these two (or any other ) and do you think it was value for money especially the ACR Power Plus engine ?

Cheers

I am afraid I have no experience of the Power Plus, but I do know ACR. Roland (ACR) is exceedingly pleasant to deal with, a great bloke and really knows his stuff. The quality of the kit he produces is fantastic and they take a real pride in what they do. They have a great reputation both for series stuff right up to full race engines.

I'm a satisfied customer and a fierce rival of his on the track!

H

I had the powerplus (stage 2 I believe) kit on my lightweight. It was done by the previous owner, and the work was carried out by ACR, along with a number of other changes. I have spoken to roland on a number of occasions, mostly querying things to do with the truck and he was always helpful even though I hadn't had the work done, and it was some time since doing it.

Big question is what do you want to use your truck for one it's done?

IMHO the powerplus kit gave the engine loads more power, but at the cost of control. The engine is most powerful at high revs, due to the warmed up cam that is part of the kit, and lead to what I still refer to as a digital throttle - it was all on or all off. This was fantastic on the road, and the truck drove really well. Once you get into an offroad situation where throttle control is a far bigger factor it was a bit of a handful, and made driving with any finesse difficult.