Nanocom (should I get one?)

Hi,

I've been studying the previous posts / tech archive and discussions on this Nanocom device. I'm relatively new to ECU's and TD5 I do wonder if I should get one...

So an easy question to Nanocom owners, are you happy with the device and would you buy it again?

As I have 5 spare ECU's on the shelf (don't ask me why... they came with the vehicle....) I would like to check those out. Will it be just swapping ECU's inside the vehicle or is there an other way to test / read them?

Cheers

Marco

Guest diesel_jim
If you are thinking of getting one you'll be hard pushed to find one at the moment...

I've been waiting nearly 2 months from Bearmach :(

^^^^^^^ same as... :(

The price of these has jumped £50 to £200 now - I wonder why? ;)

Les.

Really??

I thought it was always £200 - thankfully i have mine sitting here next to me, shame the vehicle is in pieces!!

I think that Nanocom is the swiss army knife for Td5: the diagnostic possibility that the tool is able don't have equals, also comparing it with LR Test Book if we think about possibility to record all parameters managed by ECU and view it in a graph!

For delay in shipping/producing new Nanocom's unit: hardware is improved changing PC interfaces (no more serial port but the more common USB) and avoiding a heating problem when the unit was left, for example, in the Land in a very sunny day. Also the firmware is updated (version 2.0) and the software bundle but I haven't try it yet.

And I'm glad to say that Nanocom was born some years ago from the (brillant) idea of a "senior" member of Africaland forum :D

About the cost: in Italy is sold at the price of 249euro.

So is it worth waiting for the newer one then?

Would be willing to buy one off eBay but if the new one comes out and it's better I'd rather spend my cash on that!