Discovery Vibration

John the Fridge

Hi....Hope someone can help, my Disco develops noisy vibration when reducing speed in top gear to roughly 30mph, its very noisy and sounds tinny when accelerating in 4th gear at 30mph and only settles out when I reach 40mph, checked all UJ'S and they appear to be fine, changed the doughnut to no avail, I'm completly at a loss.

Any help realy appreciated........John the Fridge.

I'm not an expert but I have read numerous threads about vibrations where the owners say they have checked the UJs which seem fine, only to report back a few weeks later saying it was the UJs.

Never rule them out until they have been changed.

HTH

Hi. Thanks for your help will order a complete set of UJs today.

Cheers......John

wheels need balancing? Rocky

Hi Rocky.....Had the wheels balanced last week but problem still there, I've also had it to the main dealers and they cant put there finger on it, its driving me crackers, perhaps the only way to sort it will be to change every bush, shocks, tyres ,UJs etc:

Anyway thanks for your help.

Regards....John.

Have you checked the splines in the propshaft?

When they get worned the propshaft comes out of balance.

Thanks Sealt......I'm not sure if my garrage checked the propshaft splines, but worn splines sounds a possibility.

I have decided to replace all the suspension and this morning ordered a new set of shockers, springs, complete bush set, UJs and wheel bearings.

If this dont work its definately going to the scrap yard.

Thank you and regards. John the Fridge. ( Einar Sevarg )

Its easy to check.

If you push the propshaft up and down then there shouldnt be any noticeable slack