Painting advice

HoSS

Hi,

I need to paint my truck body. Its steel with Alu/Zinc coating and the flaky NATO paint on top.

I do have a spray gun & compressor, but i'm no expert. Could someone talk me through the process please?

I need to get the old paint off without damaging the Alu/Zinc, so i guess sanding is out. What should i do?

If the paint is sound, can i just key it with a scour pad or light paper, and then pain on top?

Which undercoat should i use?

I plan to use a matt or satin top coat something like this http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Military-Vehicle-Paint-2-5Ltr-5Ltr-Cans-All-Colours-/330894028228?pt=UK_DIY_Material_Paint_Varnish_MJ&var=&hash=item4d0ad22dc4

I dont have a paint booth, but can make a polythene tent in my workshop.

Excellent post.

But i just have a few questions stiil:

How to get down to the alu/zinc layer without damaging it? paint stripper & scotch brite?

I guess i need to use 2k etch primer on the Alu/Zinc? But do i need to put high-build primer on top of that?

I used a wire knot brush on an angle grinder. Was the only thing that would touch the old military paint. Didn't damage the body work, it's tougher than you think. Just kept moving around so as not to build up too much heat in one area.

• 2 weeks later...

I'm not exactly sure what technology my 'Alu/Zinc' treatment is. But using a wire brushing on a test patch seems to take it down to steel so i dont want to do that obviously. The same for sanding.

I've tried household paint stripper but that is only partially effective.

Any ideas? Is there a specific stripper that will be more effective on bodywork paint?

• 2 weeks later...

I'm not exactly sure what technology my 'Alu/Zinc' treatment is. But using a wire brushing on a test patch seems to take it down to steel so i dont want to do that obviously. The same for sanding.

I've tried household paint stripper but that is only partially effective.