TD5 ECU Help

Hi

My LR (Defender TD5 2002) is starting with some difficulty (doesn't just fire up, takes a quite a few turnovers) and then runs lumpy. I've then driven her around the block - stopped - and after a few moments, its revving freely and running fine. I can then go for a drive - start and stop and its ok. Then when I pull back on the drive (has slight upward slope), its back to being weird again.

Prior to this I had checked the RED plug on the ECU and it had oil in it (see Oily-ECUPlug.jpg) and the connector has what looks like a frayed black wire (look at the base of it, near my thumb) which I don't know if its normal? Other wires look ok

I have a Nanocom, and its throwing no Fault codes. Don't know what else to look at on it

Any ideas of where to look next?

(BTW - I've ordered a new Injector Harness and Rocker Cover Gasket in the hope of stopping the oil) - just wondering if I need to replace the ECU Loom as well ! I'm a newbie at this Defender stuff.

Oily-ECUPlug.jpg

ECUPlug-Wiring-bare-black.jpg

Had this on my 90TD5 at about 10,000 miles - Give the red plug on the main harness, and the matching socket on the ECU, a good blast with brake-cleaner; then as mentioned hook the rubber gasket round the inner edge of the main harness plug out to let any further oil drain out.

When you replace the injector loom under the cam-cover, give the matching plug on the engine-bay wiring harness a good blast with the brake-cleaner and let it dry before re-plugging it to the replaced injector-loom.

Oil will continue to emerge from the red plug over a period of weeks - so pull it off and blast it with brake-cleaner regularly until no more oil appears.

I'm having this problem at the moment, I have a 2000 Defender Td5. It's taking several attempts to start the vehicle and runs extremely lumpy with masses of white/grey smoke when it does eventually fire.