Truetrac in front axles of Series

oneandtwo

Do you have an 88 or 109?  If you have an 88, you can open up the Trutrac, flip the internals over and make it a rear axle unit, which is the better place to have it if you only fit one - it’ll make the axle stronger, which is more useful at the back being the axle that is always driven rather than sometimes engaged, and it’d give the most traction benefit.

18 hours ago, Snagger said:

Do you have an 88 or 109?  If you have an 88, you can open up the Trutrac, flip the internals over and make it a rear axle unit, which is the better place to have it if you only fit one - it’ll make the axle stronger, which is more useful at the back being the axle that is always driven rather than sometimes engaged, and it’d give the most traction benefit.

I already have a Quaife unit in the rear axle 😃

• Like 1

I have no personal experience but people who have put them in the front of their Defenders have not had any issues with increased steering loads etc.  They are more of a LSD rather than a diff lock and in Defenders owners put a diff lock in the back and the TrueTrac in the front.

Garry

11 hours ago, oneandtwo said:

I already have a Quaife unit in the rear axle 😃

Now I’m jealous!

I have read that they make the steering self centre a bit more positively and help with stability, initially fairly pronounced but becoming less noticeable after a few hundred miles, but haven’t seen comments about the steering becoming heavier.  You could infer a slight increase from the centring comments, but I don’t think it’d be a big issue.  It is worth noting that all the comments came from drivers of later vehicles, Like Defenders and Discovery’s, with permanent 4wd.  On the plus side, it should help with the steering when braking, as it will bias loads in the same way from uneven braking as with uneven grip under drive.

• Like 1