200/300tdi Comparison

Anglo-Frenchman

Just weighing up buying a new 300tdi 110 CSW and wondered how it would compare with my 200 110 CSW? Any significant improvements that would make the swap worthwhile?

Thanks

Ged

Much of a muchness. The 200 has slightly more 'grunt' but is less refined. The 300 is slightly easoer to work on but is slightly less reliable. I would go on the condition of the vehicles and the mileage and take the engines as if they were the same. The 300 is likely to be fitted with the god awful R380 (my opinion and most definately not applauded by some).

That's very interesting. I should perhaps have pointed out that the when I said a 'new' 300tdi I meant a brand new one with only delivery miles on it. My main interest was the noise levels and cruising speed but from the replies it would seem that any improvement would be negligable then. I am trying to avoid buying a TD5 becuase being a keen home mechanic I wanted sometihng I could work on - better the devil you know etc....

I would say as an on-road vehicle the 300TDi is the better. I don't think there's anything in it mechanical-wise really. Some things are easier and some are harder. Both engines are relatively easy to work on anyway, and prices for parts are cheap for either one. I would buy the 300 if it was me.

Les.

Guest diesel_jim
That's very interesting. I should perhaps have pointed out that the when I said a 'new' 300tdi I meant a brand new one with only delivery miles on it. My main interest was the noise levels and cruising speed but from the replies it would seem that any improvement would be negligable then. I am trying to avoid buying a TD5 becuase being a keen home mechanic I wanted sometihng I could work on - better the devil you know etc....