Defender 90 200Tdi - getting it into shape...

Right a few queries:

1) Is it worth changing the rear axle in order to fit discs instead of drums?

2) Gearbox is on its way out methinks, serious hard work engaging gears, sometimes won't engage at all. I presure fitting a new one is expensive and I'm not that hot a mechanic, so will need to get someone to do it for me. If I do, is it possible/feasible to fit a newer 6 speed gearbox, and is it worth doing?

3) Tractor joint was pooped, replaced it, since then I get an intermittant scraping sound, which has gradually lessened. Is this a bedding in process or was the job done badly.

4) Wading plugs and breathers. I have a safari snorkel. What breathers should I extend, with what should I extend them, and where exactly are the plugs I need to put in? These plugs, can they be left there all the time? I expect this has already been covered somewhere in the forums, but a complete novice guide to it would be nice!

5) Door seals. When it rains I get a very wet right knee and foot. Will replacing the seals actually do much?

Cheers all,

Ed

1. Yes. The drum brakes are carp once they are full of mud.

2. Change the oil first. Use ATF Dextron 2/3 or MTF94. If it has been filled with EP90 you will find it a nightmare.

3. Not sure I understand the question - grinding noises are generally bad.

4. I will leave this for someone else...

5. You can try replacing the seals and bending the door (literally) or adjusting the latch/hinges to make the door meet the seal. Don't hold your breath though.

Chris

1. Yes. The drum brakes are carp once they are full of mud.

2. Change the oil first. Use ATF Dextron 2/3 or MTF94. If it has been filled with EP90 you will find it a nightmare.

3. Not sure I understand the question - grinding noises are generally bad.

4. I will leave this for someone else...