Help for a young beginner please!

Hi all,

Im an 18 year old fan of the Defender, and i'm now thinking seriously of getting one of my own as a long term project. At the moment im driving a hatchback, and as im a fairly inexperienced driver i plan to go for the Defender 90. This is where i begin to stumble. i think the correct terms are Crew Cab and Country, so using those terms;

is it possible to change the panel above the rear wheels and below the roof so to change a Crew Cab into a Country? Or alternatively, if there is anything between them, such as a part glazed panel, that can be installed?

Also, im in the Liverpool area and have up to £2000 to spend on a late 80s/early 90s, so if anyone is looking to sell something like what id like in that area, gimme a link!

Many thanks for your time, Tom

Firstly wlecome and I'm sure a mod will be along soon to tell You to read the new members thingy at the top of the forum. :P I am not entierly sure what you are talking about. Do you want to change one that has a solid back end into a one with windows? This is a hard-top and station wagon respectively. the county station wagon is just a plusher version of the one with windows!

Thanks

Pete

Guest diesel_jim

Welcome to the fold young pedouin.... :lol:

The piece of bodywork you're referrring to is a "side panel", and yes, they're un-boltable and interchangable between 90's (or 110's... but not between 90's and 110's as they're a different size)

the terms you're thinking of are worded differently, the crew-cab is a "hard top", and the country is "station wagon". you can also get a county station wagon (no "R" in county) which is just a posher version of a station wagon.. tinted windows,stereo,sunroof and sometimes less leaks, although that depends on who built which particular vehicle on the day and how much of a hangover he had)