CB Antenna Question

stuck

Hi all,

Forgive me if this is too :offtopic: but I want to fit a CB radio to my truck but know bugger all about them.

Question is does the location of the antenna compensate for it's length? In other words will a short antenna mounted up high perform better than the same length antenna mounted lower down? :unsure:

Many thanks,

Mick.

no. :o

antennas should be cut to a proper length. much like a string on a guitar. If you said I want a note but cant be bothered to tune it it would sound like a bad celine dion meets meatloaf concert.

The position of the antenna will however help pick up weak signals better. As will siting it over a large earthed metalic object such as the centre of a metal roof. Albeit that your truck isn't that well earthed. :huh:

Sods law dictates though the higher the antenna is mounted the more it will be attacked by trees/bridges/kids and the temptation to hang flags/gonks off it for no apparent reason :P

Pete

i'm no expert but someone said once that there an idea antenna lenght for what frequency you trying to transmit or recive so i thik they must be made in that size for the frequency your useing. probally no help at all that ;)

i'm no expert but someone said once that there an idea antenna lenght for what frequency you trying to transmit or recive so i thik they must be made in that size for the frequency your useing. probally no help at all that ;)

Question is does the location of the antenna compensate for it's length? In other words will a short antenna mounted up high perform better than the same length antenna mounted lower down? :unsure:

Being an ex Avionics Engineer in the RAF, I did a small bit regarding communications and from what I can remember the length of an antenna determines the range of frequencies it can receive/transmit

You can read some CB stuff from here and here.